I Admit I Found My Lost Keys in My Hand

Never be afraid to laugh at our distracted minds

Dr Jeff Livingston
4 min readMar 8, 2020
AaronAmat istock by Getty

911 Emergency. The hospital needs me right now, but I can’t find my car keys. Panicking, I ransack the house and dig through the car. I discover a Starbucks card from 2014, a broken pen, 57 cents in change, and a fossilized french fry.

No car keys.

I check my coat and pant pockets. I retrace my steps checking the kitchen and bathroom. Then, I look in my left hand.

Car keys.

Now off to do surgery.

Photo by Maria Ziegler on Unsplash

Not the first time

The other day, I left the hospital after delivering a baby. I swiped my hospital badge against the door handle of my car. Hospital security is quite essential, but hospital badges do not unlock car doors.

Once, during a power outage, my wife and I scrambled to locate a candle. I tried to turn on the light switch to find one…in three different rooms.

Last week, I got into a hotel elevator on the first floor but neglected to push any buttons. A few minutes later, still on the first floor, the elevator doors…

--

--

Dr Jeff Livingston

Obgyn, Husband, Father, & Entrepreneur. Writing about Women’s Health, Parenting, and Self-improvement. CEO of MacArthurmc.com & founder of Medika.life